Family Ministry

advice, thoughts, and discussion

Fall…what a great time of year

on September 18, 2012

Today I was driving to work on this beautiful cool and rainy day (I know, most people don’t say a cool and rainy day in September is nice….but I’m a little different). Anyways, I was driving this morning and thinking of all of the things that I love to do during the fall – picking apples, drinking apple cider, baking, decorating, passing out candy on Halloween, raking leaves…and jumping in them. All the good stuff. Then I was thinking, what are some things that our families can do this fall to help them get closer to each other and to God?

So, as always I turned to one of my favorite sources – Focus on the Family. There’s a really great article that you should read with some different ideas. But, here’s a few to start with:

– Take an adventurous bike ride. Most towns have bike trails. Fall is a great time of year to throw on a sweatshirt and see how far you can bike. Maybe you can even stop at a restaurant for dinner!

– Bake cookies, pie, or a cake together. This will help your family to work like a team and will help your kids to follow directions (and the recipe will reward you when you do!)

– Have a movie night. Pick a few of your favorite fall-themed movies and make a night of it! One of my favorites is, “It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown!” You could even make some caramel popcorn!

– Have a WII or board game night. Now that nights are cooler and get darker earlier, have the kids stay inside to play after dinner. My husband and I own a Play Station Move, and it can be a lot of fun to play on days where it’s too cool to go outside!

– Have your kids go to grandma’s house or to a friend’s house so you can have alone time with your spouse. Stay home and cook dinner together and play games or just spend time talking. Nurturing your marriage will exponentially nurture your family and relationship with your kids!

– Serve!!! You can teach your kids how to care for others and have fun while doing it by serving at a local Humane Society, Homeless Shelter, or Soup Kitchen!

Remember, Proverbs 22:6; “Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it.” Here’s something my dad always used to say to me when I thought I was a know-it-all, “I know you know…show me you know.” If you teach your kids how to be a good spouse, Caring Christian, and family oriented person through actions instead of words, they are ten times more likely to follow through with those practices and ideas. Show them.

What are some special things that your family does to celebrate the season? Have a very Happy Fall!

Leave a Reply

