Family Ministry

advice, thoughts, and discussion

“You married me because I’m really funny, right?”

on October 29, 2012

“You married me because I’m really funny, right?” I say to my husband at least once a week. I’m not sure why my humor is so corny. Okay,  maybe it’s the way I was raised. Example – one of my dad’s funniest jokes was him singing “Juan is the loneliest number”, you know a play off of Three Dog Night’s “One is the loneliest Number.” I have no idea why he even thought this was funny or how it even made sense. But, because he laughed and I love and appreciate my dad and his quirks, I thought it was hilarious. Anyways, I tend to think I’m extremely funny, gut splitting kind of funny. Nobody else seems to think this, except for my husband. I think it just might be because he loves me and all of my little quirks so much.

But, we all like to laugh, don’t we? And marriage is one of the most important places to have humor. Laughter is good medicine, literally. It has important physiological effects on you and your soul mate. The French philosopher Voltaire wrote, “The art of medicine consists of amusing the patient while nature cures the disease.” Modern research shows that people with a sense of humor have fewer symptoms of physical illness than those who are less humorous.

This idea, of course, isn’t new. Since King Solomon’s times, people have known about and applied the healing benefits of humor. As Proverbs tells us, “A cheerful heart is good medicine.” (17:22)

But humor brings more than physiological benefits to a husband and wife. Humor helps us cope.  Essayist and biographer Agnes Repplier, who was known for her common sense and good judgment, said, “We cannot really love anybody with whom we never laugh.” I believe the implication of her statement is also true: The more you laugh together, the more you love your spouse…and the better family and home life you’ll have.

So, with this in mind, I found some tips on bringing a daily dose of laughter into your marriage:

1.) Lighten up! Don’t take yourself so seriously. To do this simply relax. Remember what matters; your marriage, not your pride.

2.) Poke fun at your spouse…carefully. Example; I have a bad habit. I blow my nose, constantly! But, that’s not the bad part. I tend to leave the tissues in my pockets, forgetting to take them out before my clothes get washed and dried. One afternoon, I was at work and my husband texted me a picture of something, but I couldn’t tell what it was. I called him and he explained that he had been doing laundry, and when he had taken my jeans out of the dryer a few handfuls of shredded tissues fell out and dumped all over our carpet. It was a cute (and very funny) way of saying, “Hey, stop it with the snot rags already, OK? ” We still laugh about it. But now I’m better at remembering to empty my pockets!

3.) Laugh when you don’t feel like it. Especially when you don’t feel like it.

4.) Look for funny things around you. We love to find humor in the silly things. Going to Wal-Mart and playing a scavenger hunt game, going to the mall and making each other try on the most ridiculous outfits, or talking in funny accents in public as long as you can, becoming more and more ridiculous until someone notices. Immature? Maybe. But it keeps us laughing, and keeps us loving!

5.) Study your spouse’s funny bone! This reminds me of a scene in one of my favorite movies, Singing in the Rain. Cosmo is trying to cheer up his dear friend Don Lockwood by singing a song about how everyone loves to laugh, and you just need to find their funny bone! Watch the clip here! Know what makes your spouse laugh, and joke with them!

The bottom line is, everyone wants to laugh. And I can’t think of anyone better to laugh with than my best friend, my husband. You should spend time laughing with yours, too. You’ll see that it’ll improve your health, improve your marriage, and improve the mood and the tone of your whole family.

One response to ““You married me because I’m really funny, right?”

  1. cshowers says:

    Wise advice. I’ve been married to my husband for 31 years, and laughter has brought us through many trials. Blessings to you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

